What’s your umbrella?

Finding cures to depression

The miracle herb….dried sage…..

Posted by curedepressionwithumbrellas on August 11, 2008

One of my favorite UMBRELLAS

 

Smudge Sticks

 

The first time I was introduced to a smudge stick was at a girlfriend’s house. As I was leaving her apartment, I saw her grab what appeared to be a bundle of dried up leaves wrapped around with some thread.

“What is that?” I asked her

“It’s just something I light up whenever people leave my house. Here smell it.” she said as she lunged it towards my face.

I took a whiff of it and scrunched up my nose. The first thing that came to my mind was “smelly armpits”. I couldn’t understand why anyone in their right mind would want to light something as horrendous smelling as that. She told me that dried up sage is used by many cultures worldwide. When someone wants to clear unwanted energy, burning sage helps to get rid of it.  She began to further explain that whenever people come over, immediately when they leave, she burns the sage to clear her house of any negative energy that that person might have left behind. I had never heard anything like that before, and wheels started to turn in my little head. When I arrived home the first thing I did was hop on my laptop, and used my favorite search engine-google. I began to research the usages of sage, and became fascinated by its many healing properties.

Burning sage can be summed up in three words: spiritual house cleaning. It basically clears up any negativity that resides inside of you or in your surroundings. It helps people purify themselves at the emotional, spiritual, and psychic level. Many believers of sage burning say that the smoke binds itself to negative energy.  When the smoke goes up in the air it takes along the negative energy with it. Deep stuff right?

There are many types of sage, but the main ones are:

·         sage/white sage

·         cedar/pine

·         lavender

·         sweet grass

·         mugwort

·         copal

Smudge burning is very common among Native Americans. Healers and many different religious groups also use sage.

 

How does one smudge?

Using sage is very easy. All you have to do is light up one end of the stick and fan the flame until it dies out. Direct the smoke in the area you want to be cleansed.  Many people use smudge sticks to cleanse their bodies, to cleanse their crystals (I will be dedicating any entire blog for that), any personal belongings, or rooms in houses. It’s fairly easy.

 

My personal experiences:

As you all know, I am a long time sufferer of depression. So, anytime I’m confronted with a new age remedy, I jump at the opportunity to try it. When I bought my smudge stick, I was so excited to try it. I remembered sitting in my room on my bed. I lit up the smudge stick and began to fan it all over my body.  The smell did not bother me anymore. In fact, I grew to love it. After I fanned my entire body, I sat down with my eyes close and began to meditate. I felt like I was being relieved of something.  My mind was becoming less congested and I began to feel at peace. My first time with sage sealed the deal, and I began to use it religiously. When I went out, I would use the smudge stick. When I got home, I would use the smudge stick. When people left my house I would use the smudge stick. I became quite obsessive. But, everything made sense. As mentioned before, I’m a very spiritual person. I believe that everyone has energy inside of them. Some of us have good energy. Others have bad energy. Being a depressed person, I attract negative energy very easily. When I’m around other people, if they have bad vibes, I pick up on that fast. This leaves me feeling tired. It’s as if someone sucked up all the energy out of me. When I burned sage, I felt that I was strong enough to fight the negative emotions and energies that tried to enter inside of me and keep my depression alive. Whenever I’m feeling super down in the dumps, and I need a lift, I use my smudge stick. It has worked for me.  I highly recommend sage for anyone who wants a good cleansing inside and out.

 

I’ll post a video blog later and you can  see how you can use a smudge stick to boost your spirits up.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

